Just another WordPress.com site

Rap Kills Child


A 1-year old,Hiram Lawrence was pronounced dead yesterday after being taken off life support. Hiram was shot in the head while his father was with him at the filming of a rap video in Oakland. While the father says “I was running around with the wrong people. It’s not my fault. It’s not my son’s fault.”  I’d beg to differ. No his father didn’t actually shoot his son but, he himself  said he was running around with the wrong people and those wrong people got his son killed. I feel sorry for the family and wish the young child rest in peace.

Others on forums such as yahoo blamed rap itself. They said “If we didn’t have these thugs as role models there would be less violence.” That’s so untrue. Kids don’t say “I wanna grow up and be a gangster like, Ice Cube.” No they want to grow up and have the same money like Ice Cube. They sell drugs and join gangs because they see that as a way to get money fast. And joining gangs is a way to make them feel they belong. What I’m saying is in the poorest of poor communities the young kids join gangs to feel like they belong.

I’m so tired of people saying rap makes people do violent things because it doesn’t. Poverty makes people do violent things. People are ignorant though, and will believe what they want but if they actually cared about the problem they would visit impoverished areas and try to fix the actual problems. Instead they sit in their Ivory Towers and call every body who listens to rap a thug. I listen to rap and I am in no sense a thug. They say rap makes you stupid, another untrue statement. In my placement test for college I received a 99 out 100 in English and in my math I received a 90, so obviously rap didn’t make me stupid. I don’t smoke or drink or sell any drugs so rap didn’t make me do that. But who cares, people hear about the shootings in rap and then they are like “Hey, the shoot guns in the ghetto so rap must be making those thugs shoot those guns.” That explanation is laughable and stupid. People need to realize rap is music and music never made anybody do anything.

One example Natalie Portman makes people do the things she says

Aesop Rock is a real bad person

The pharcyde are bunch of real bad dancers turned rappers

Atmosphere just spews violence into his Minnesota atmosphere

And Shad a rapper from London whose parents were Rwandan refugees and one album of his is dedicated to his parents. Yea his lyrics really make kids want to go out and commit genocide.

What I’m saying is there are so many different kinds of rap and for people to blame violence on rap is stupid. Again I’d like to send my condolences to the Lawrence family and I wish you all the best Hiram Lawrence on your ascension to heaven. I’m sure God will be glad to have you up there.

2 responses

  1. tiger blood?

    December 21, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  2. he blog was how do i say it… relevant, finally something that helped me. Thanks

    January 3, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

