Just another WordPress.com site

NOBODY CARES


I recently got hired by Grassroots Campaigns and we’re working on behalf of the Southern Poverty Law Center to end bullying in schools. What I do is I go out in the streets of Westwood and just ask people to join up in the fight against bullying. I live in Long Beach and I catch one train and two buses to get to and from work. I spend a total of five hours on the bus and train and often don’t get home until 1 in the morning, so I’m not just working here for a paycheck. I actually feel strongly about what I’m doing and I enjoy doing it, but it becomes disheartening when I hear what some people actually say.

I’ve only been working at Grassroots Campaigns and already I’ve heard the worst remarks possible. I had one woman tell me ” Sorry I’m a bully, so why would I help end bullying.” Or one man asked ” Are you fighting against gay bullying? If you are I can’t help you.” When I heard these people say these things I thought to myself  ” What’s happened to Americans.” When did the American people stop caring. Then on top of the rude people there’s people who I’ll tell what I’m fighting to end and they’ll say “Ooh that’s a good cause.” and they’ll walk away. I’m not saying they should care as much as I do but care a little bit enough to allow me to teach them about what’s going on.

4 responses

  1. don’t get rick rolled

    December 21, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  2. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this site, it has good blog posts. “The living is a species of the dead and not a very attractive one.” by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche.

    December 28, 2011 at 9:25 am

  3. Great post. I am facing a couple of these problems.

    January 3, 2012 at 9:51 pm

  4. Those are yours alright! . We at least need to get these people stealing images to start blogging! They probably just did a image search and grabbed them. They look good though!

    January 8, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

