Just another WordPress.com site

Block the Vote


All across the nation we are seeing republicans trying to “block the vote”. They are enforcing laws that would require voters to carry photo identification with them to the polls, in some places there are more radical changes. Now this wouldn’t be a problem but, at the beginning of 2011  the only states that had these laws previously were Georgia and Indiana. As of now, there are  eight states that have strict photo I.d. laws and fifteen states require photo I.d.s to vote. Strangely enough though, most of the states that require photo I.d. to vote are red states.

These laws would have a negative affect on many of the minorities as well as young people. To say these policies aren’t to make it harder for minorities to vote would be stupid and to say these policies aren’t a little racist that’d be equally stupid. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t believe the individuals that drafted these bills are racist but, I will say they definitely saw the benefit of constructing a law that would restrict the voting rights of people that were more likely to vote democrat.

Republicans say they set up these laws to help voter fraud. That’s a blatantly outlandish lie they used to cover up the fact they are doing everything they can to ensure Obama is a one term president. I’ve looked up the numbers and you are more likely to see a person struck by lightning than see a person commit voter fraud. In the last election there were only 9 possible occurrences of voter fraud and in that same year there were 352 deaths caused by lightning.

To put everything out there, these laws are beyond stupid. In most states that require photo I.d.s  to vote, a student I.d. wouldn’t work but, if you live in Texas you can use your gun license to vote. Sweet, I can use my gun license to vote but if I’m an out-of-state student and my university I.d. card is the only form of identification I have then I’m shit out of luck. That alone is ridiculous enough to make me want to slap every person in the Texas legislature. But on top of the ridiculous voter I.d. requirements republicans also want to cut out early voting, same day registration, and the way some people register. Two teachers in Florida were actually jailed and can face up to thousands in fines for helping their students register to vote. That’s beyond ridiculous, the republicans are getting to the point where the only people they care about are themselves and big government.

But the best way to beat this voter suppression is to get all the proper documents because if you don’t your voice won’t be heard. Don’t let them BLOCK THE VOTE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response

  1. This is a very good tips especially to those new to blogosphere, brief and accurate information… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read article.

    January 3, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

