Just another WordPress.com site

Family


I was lucky growing up. I had two parents who cared for me and looked after me as well as two older siblings, aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents who did the same. I was also lucky because my family allowed me to develop my own political views and views on social issues. On election days when I got home from school my family would receive a barrage of questions about who they voted for from me but, they never quite gave me a straight answer. They would say they voted for the white guy, or the guy with brown hair. I would think to myself “okay” and at the time those answers sufficed. As I look back though, I feel hoodwinked, bamboozled, and cheated out of  a straight forward answer. I am also grateful for those answers. I am grateful because those answers never swayed what I thought about certain candidates or a certain party.

Some of my friends didn’t have the same privilege as me though. One of my friends political views are so skewed by his fathers that when ever Obama appears on t.v. he screams, so he doesn’t have to hear Obama speak. Or in one case he called me a liberal scum when I proved to him and his father that their views on a certain topic were backwards and would actually hinder society. My friend also said Donald Trump would make a good president so he added some weirdness to his fathers political views.

I’m not saying that families shouldn’t discuss politics with their children but, older family members should be weary of talking ill of a certain politician  or political party. Children are very impressionable and a person whom they look up to  saying “democrats are dumb asses” resonates with children long after that person has forgotten they’ve said it. Since those children have heard their father or grandfather say “republicans are dumb asses” they hold those words to be fact rather than opinion. And their belief of  our statements to be true usually ends up with them being more radical, more far left or far right without any real understanding of why they believe these things. So if your a parent, a grandparent, an aunt, an uncle, or just somebody able to vote with another person looking up to you, be weary of what you say around the youngsters. If you don’t this country may be ran by radicals of the far left or far right and this country may see more turmoil than ever before.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself? Plz reply back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know wheere u got this from. thanks

    January 8, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  2. I simply want to mention I’m all new to weblog and actually enjoyed you’re web-site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your website . You certainly come with terrific posts. Thank you for sharing your web-site.

    January 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

  3. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog readers have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

    January 31, 2012 at 1:49 am

  4. seo

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

    January 31, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  5. seo

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. All the best

    January 31, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

