Just another WordPress.com site

The Constitution Says… WHAT?


The Constitution says nothing about marriage but, many biblical conservatives, Rick Santorum, claim that same sex marriage is unconstitutional. I have read the constitution and I have also looked through numerous websites about the constitution and it has to be stated that nowhere and I mean nowhere in the constitution does  it say same sex marriage is banned. Now there’s the Defense Of Marriage Act, DOMA, that deems same sex marriages invalid and states the definition of marriage is “only a legal union between man and woman”. However, Section 3 of DOMA, the one that defines marriage between man and woman, has been deemed by many to be unconstitutional. So if Section 3 of DOMA is your only claim to same sex marriages being unconstitutional then you my friend are stuck in a pickle of a thing you find unconstitutional and a thing that has been deemed unconstitutional by people like Attorney General Eric Holder and President Barack Obama.

How do I see same sex marriage? I see same sex marriage as marriage. I don’t see it any differently than opposite sex marriage. To me marriage is when two people come together and voice their love for one another in a public forum. I don’t see any difference between two men getting married and man and woman getting married.

The situation is like this. I am heterosexual 18 year old man and one day I hope to get married. But what if I wasn’t able to get marry the woman of my dreams because she was taller than me or if she wasn’t biracial. I would be extremely hurt and disheartened. Just thinking about that gets me upset. Fortunately, I won’t ever have to worry about not being able to marry the woman I love. Sadly, people in America are unable to marry the partners they are in love with only because their partners are of the same sex. It’s stupid but, I believe my gay friends will some day be able to marry the people they love.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses

  1. I just want to mention I am new to weblog and honestly loved your page. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You really have terrific articles and reviews. Regards for sharing with us your web page.

    January 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

  2. I just want to say I am newbie to blogging and definitely liked your web site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You definitely have beneficial posts. Appreciate it for revealing your website.

    February 7, 2012 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

