Just another WordPress.com site

Free Speech With Consequences


Recently GOP State House Member, Mike O’Neal, sent out two emails. One calling Michelle Obama Mrs. YoMAMA and another he sent referenced a prayer from the book of Psalm. This bible verse is very suggestive to say the least. The verse reads at Psalm 109:8 “Let his days be numbered and let another take his place in office, let his children be fatherless and his wife a widow…” and so on. The verse continues on and it is a prayer for a man in office to pass away. Congressman O’Neal rejoices at the end of his email stating “At last — I can honestly voice a Biblical prayer for our president! Look it up — it is word for word! Let us all bow our heads and pray. Brothers and Sisters, can I get an AMEN? AMEN!!!!!!”. However, when the email went public he said the verse referenced in his email wasn’t meant to be taken literally but in his email he says “… Look it up – it is word for word!…”.

Of course people came to his defense and said it’s his First Amendment right to say what he wants so he shouldn’t be punished or reprimanded. What those people fail to realize is, while the First Amendment allows you to say what you wish, it doesn’t protect from punishment. Others asked “Why should Congressman O’Neal be punished when there is a bumper sticker that says the same thing?” The answer to that is, Congressman O’Neal is held to higher a standard. He is not a businessman making a profit. He is not a person working underneath the public eye. He is a representative of the United States. He is some one who people can look up and find in another country. And if some one in another country looks him up and finds this is his stance on Obama then what will they think of the state of our country.

Do I agree with the statements of Congressman O’Neal? Absolutely not but, do I believe he had the right to the say them absolutely. Do I believe he should have said them? Of course not, not because I like Obama but, because Obama is our president and also because I have never or will I ever wish death upon anyone. It’s silly that politics has become what it is what it is and that won’t change until we get the dumb out politics.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

13 responses

  1. I just want to say I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and definitely savored this blog. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly come with outstanding stories. Bless you for revealing your website page.

    January 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

  2. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    January 31, 2012 at 7:52 am

    • its modularity light

      January 31, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  3. My grand father all the time used to watch YouTube funny video tutorials, hehehehehe, as he desires to be glad forever.

    February 5, 2012 at 2:24 am

  4. I just want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and site-building and seriously enjoyed your web blog. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You certainly come with beneficial well written articles. Kudos for sharing your website page.

    February 7, 2012 at 4:33 am

  5. Thank you your post, previously it was interesting and compelling. I discovered my way here through Google, I am going to come back once more 🙂

    February 10, 2012 at 9:56 am

  6. Can I just say what a aid to seek out somebody who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know the best way to bring a difficulty to mild and make it important. Extra individuals must learn this and perceive this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more common since you positively have the gift.

    February 13, 2012 at 7:32 am

  7. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    February 13, 2012 at 8:12 am

  8. This actually answered my problem, thanks!

    February 13, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  9. There are some fascinating time limits in this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There’s some validity however I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as properly

    February 13, 2012 at 4:18 pm

  10. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    February 16, 2012 at 2:36 am

  11. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    February 20, 2012 at 7:54 pm

  12. my wife liked it too

    March 28, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

