Just another WordPress.com site

Political Satire Good Or Bad?


With Stephen Colbert joining the election in South Carolina people have been asking if political satire is good. To me it has some good and bad things to it but mostly good. Political satire allows people like Stephen Colbert or Jon Stewart to get the news out in a way where it’s not so boring. When I watch The O’Reilly factor, yes I watch that show too, I almost fall sleep every time but when watching The Colbert Report it seems that time goes by and I am left wanting to see more of his antics.

Political satire definitely does more good than bad. Yes, it may make important news seem like a joke but it also makes political shows more tolerable. I enjoy watching The O’Reilly and other shows alike but, I’m 18, my attention span doesn’t last as long as the dullness that drudges on on those shows. Bill O’Reilly has some valid points but, because of the same dull talking head style he uses those valid points get drowned by the dullness of his show. The Colbert Report and The Daily Show also use the talking head but they have enticing guests, graphics, and humor.

Although Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert may go overboard from time to time they mostly give the news the way it is. They are both democrats but they hold nothing back when anybody messes up. Bill O’Reilly is significantly harder on democratic leaders than he is on republican leaders and that’s fine because his show is an opinionated political show. Stewart’s and Colbert’s shows however are news show that should provide no bias and in most cases they don’t. Stewart did go a little soft on Rep. Anthony Weiner but the two are friends so I understand that.

Political satire in the form of Colbert and Stewart is not necessarily new but, it has only caught a lot of steam. As of yet we are unsure where this thing will go but, so it’s looking good. I truly hope it continues to do good and I truly hope people will stop complaining about a good thing. I enjoy Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert people need to learn to just slow down and laugh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

5 responses

  1. I just want to mention I am very new to blogging and site-building and absolutely enjoyed you’re blog. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You actually come with awesome article content. Many thanks for sharing with us your website page.

    January 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

  2. I just want to say I am all new to blogging and honestly savored your blog. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You actually come with fantastic writings. Thanks for revealing your webpage.

    February 7, 2012 at 7:07 am

  3. I simply wanted to appreciate you yet again. I am not sure what I might have created in the absence of those points contributed by you on such theme. It became a frightful circumstance in my position, but viewing the very professional form you solved the issue forced me to weep with gladness. I will be happier for this assistance as well as have high hopes you know what a great job you happen to be doing educating the mediocre ones with the aid of your websites. I am certain you’ve never encountered all of us.

    February 13, 2012 at 9:12 am

  4. you have got a great weblog here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my weblog?

    February 13, 2012 at 10:27 am

  5. I have been checking out a few of your posts and i can state pretty good stuff. I will definitely bookmark your blog.

    February 14, 2012 at 12:23 am

Leave a Reply

