Just another WordPress.com site

Goodbye Gabby


Today was the final day for Gabby Giffords in congressional office. She resigned, but Debbie Wasserman Schultz said it wouldn’t be the final time that you and I see Ms. Giffords in office. I honestly hope to see this strong and wonderful woman in office again, hopefully soon.

With Ms. Giffords resigning for obvious reasons certain things have also been brought up. Certain things like gun control laws. You’d think with some one like Ms. Giffords being attacked the way she was, there’d be more gun control laws. On the contrary, there are actually less gun control laws in certain states and even in Arizona than there were before the Tuscon shooting. One of the laws that is new to certain states in the union is that convicted felons can now own guns. Yea, the people who were convicted of crimes can own a gun but, those same people can’t vote.

Both things seem a little backwards to me. Gun laws should have immediately become more strict, just for a little while, not less strict. And why would some one rather have a gun than have the right to vote. To me my right to vote is significantly more important than my right to own a gun. Yes guns, protect me from immediate danger but my right to vote protects my future and present. My right to vote also protects me from idiots who want to create dumb laws.

It seems as a country we’re lacking the intelligence, common sense, and care for one another that used to be the reason people came to America. Too often people are settling for the immediate fix than the long term solution. People would rather own guns than have the right to vote. I remember reading in text books that voting used to be a luxury afforded to certain people and how people fought and in some cases were bombarded with billy clubs and tear gas just to receive the right to vote. And today you have  people more concerned about owning a gun than being disenfranchised. It just doesn’t make sense.

Again I would like to wish Ms. Giffords and her husband all the best.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

15 responses

  1. Remarkable things here. I am very happy to look your article. Thank you a lot and I’m looking forward to touch you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

    February 2, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  2. I take pleasure in, cause I found just what I used to be having a look for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    February 6, 2012 at 11:51 pm

  3. I just want to say I’m newbie to blogging and certainly liked you’re web site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You definitely have great posts. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your webpage.

    February 7, 2012 at 10:41 am

  4. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    February 13, 2012 at 9:08 am

  5. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

    February 13, 2012 at 9:47 am

  6. thanks good post

    February 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm

  7. fantastic, I have a few problems though is it ok to post them here?

    February 14, 2012 at 1:24 am

  8. Hi there, I found your blog via yahoo while looking for a related topic, your site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    February 15, 2012 at 3:43 am

  9. I thought it was gonna be some rehashed old information and facts, but Im glad I visited. I will post a link to this web page on my website. My visitors will discover this facts pretty useful.

    February 17, 2012 at 1:21 am

  10. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I give credit and sources back to your site? My weblog is in the exact identical area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you offer here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

    February 20, 2012 at 6:17 am

    • Of course feel free to quote me as long as I am given some kind of credit

      February 20, 2012 at 6:20 am

  11. Thanks for this wondrous post, I am glad I observed this internet site on yahoo.

    February 20, 2012 at 3:40 pm

  12. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

    February 23, 2012 at 6:18 pm

  13. Thank you so much for providing individuals with a very superb chance to check tips from this site. It really is so kind and as well , jam-packed with a good time for me personally and my office mates to visit the blog particularly thrice in one week to study the latest things you will have. And definitely, we are usually amazed considering the perfect opinions you serve. Selected 2 ideas on this page are absolutely the most beneficial we’ve ever had.

    February 24, 2012 at 3:53 pm

  14. Keep up the superb works guys

    March 28, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Leave a Reply

