Just another WordPress.com site

Black Month History


Today marks the start of Black History Month. On our television sets there will be short videos of the accomplishments of members of the black community. We will be reminded of Wilma Rudolph and other black athletes. We will reminisce on the accomplishments of Martin Luther King Jr. and other black activists. Our attention will be called to the achievements of every notable black person in United States history. So why don’t I like Black History Month?

Black History Month started off as Negro History Week  in 1926 and was started by historian Carter G. Woodson. It began as an attempt to educate the American people of African-American history. In 1976 African-American History Month or Black History Month became a month long annual celebration of African-American history. Black History Month is observed in February in the United States and Canada and in October in the United Kingdom. During these month long tutorials of African-American history young Americans learn the history African-Americans. Young Americans are almost literally bombarded with facts of the Black Community during this month.

So back to my question. Why don’t I like Black History Month? It’s not that I don’t like it, It’s just that I don’t like what it does. I don’t have a problem with it personally. However, I have a problem with what it does to the nation. It causes some what of a rift, if you will, between the black community and other ethnic groups. It seems that the black community is the only community that needs to be recognized for what it has provided to American culture. And because they force their accomplishments down the throats of other ethnic groups, the other ethnic groups start to form a resentment towards the black community thus creating a rift in American society.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Black history especially if it is the history of Blacks that are Americans. In times like these, though, a month dedicated to educating people on a certain community causes a rift when we already have way too many rifts in American society. We plead for inclusion and equality but, really, Black History Month does just the opposite. It excludes and divides. It makes people feel an inequality. I am not saying get rid of Black History Month, I’m just saying think about what it does before we continue recognizing it.

8 responses

  1. I simply want to say I’m all new to blogs and truly savored you’re website. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly have great stories. Many thanks for sharing with us your blog site.

    February 7, 2012 at 11:25 am

  2. You made some decent points there. I did a search on the issue and found most people will approve with your site.

    February 13, 2012 at 4:44 am

  3. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

    February 13, 2012 at 8:25 am

  4. I sincerely took pleasure in reading your weblog, you explained some superior points. I want to bookmark your article. I saved you to delicious and yahoo bookmarks. I will attempt to revisit to your webpage and examine much more posts.

    February 13, 2012 at 9:56 am

  5. I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to achieve my goals. I certainly love reading everything that is posted on your site.Keep the tips coming. I enjoyed it!

    February 13, 2012 at 12:42 pm

  6. Hello. impressive job. I did not anticipate this. This is a splendid story. Thanks!

    February 13, 2012 at 11:32 pm

  7. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    February 19, 2012 at 1:27 am

  8. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help other users like its helped me. Good job.

    March 1, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

